Press Release

Streaming Video Alliance’s Open Authentication Technology Committee (OATC) Wins Technical Emmy

The 73rd Annual Award Program Recognizes SVA’s OATC for the Development of its Event Scheduling and Notification Interface (ESNI)


FREMONT, Calif. — April 28, 2022 — The Streaming Video Alliance (the Alliance), a global technical association developing solutions to address critical technical challenges in delivering a high-quality video experience at scale, has been honored with a Technology and Engineering Emmy® Award. The Open Authentication Technology Committee (OATC), acquired by the SVA last year, has been recognized by the Academy of Arts and Sciences for its part in the development of the Event Scheduling and Notification Interface (ESNI), SCTE-224, a standard that allows channel originators to express usage rights, blackouts, and digital advertising rules for channels distributed over the internet. The ceremony took place this week in partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) as part of their media and technology convention in Las Vegas.


“We’re thrilled to accept a Technical Emmy on behalf of the OATC’s efforts. The organization’s work proved very important as traditional cable operators and broadcasters sought technical solutions to enable their subscribers easy but secure access to content on devices like smartphones, computers, and other components connected to the television,” said Jason Thibeault, Executive Director of the Streaming Video Alliance. “We applaud the work of the OATC and were honored to accept the award in-person earlier this week.”


“It’s extremely meaningful for the OATC’s collaboration with CableLabs and SCTE on the development of ESNI to be recognized by one of the most well-known and highly regarded technical awards programs in the world,” said Glenn Goldstein, Consulting Product Strategist at Lumen Technologies and a technical contributor to the project. “At its core, the mission of the OATC was to reduce friction for access to streaming services, and we’re pleased to see our work live on via the SVA and through industry recognition such as this.”


The Technology and Engineering Awards are a part of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). “The Technology & Engineering Emmy Award was the first Emmy Award issued in 1949 and it laid the groundwork for all the other Emmys to come,” said Adam Sharp, CEO & President, NATAS. “We are extremely happy about honoring these prestigious companies, again in partnership with NAB, where the intersection of innovation, technology and excitement in the future of television can be found.”


“As we award this latest class of technology Emmy Awards, it is amazing to look back at all the innovation that our industry has driven in increasingly short periods of time,” said Joe Inzerillo, Co-Chair, NATAS Technology Achievement Committee. “This latest group typifies that spirit.”


Members of the Alliance include companies from across the streaming video ecosystem such as network operators, technology providers, service providers, and content owners. Current members are: Adobe, AERQ, Agile Content, Alibaba, allt, Amazon, ATEME, Blockcast, Brightcove, Broadpeak, CBC, Ceeblue, Charter Communications, Cisco Systems, Citrix, Comcast, CommScope, Compira Labs, Conviva, Datazoom, Deutsche Telekom, DidjaTV, Disney Streaming, Dolby, Eluvio, Equus Compute Solutions, Ericsson, Fastly, Friend MTS, Globo, Google, Harmonic, Hughes Satellite Systems, INKA Entworks, Intel, Intelsat, InterDigital, Interra Systems, Irdeto, Liberty Global, Limelight Networks, Lumen Technologies, Mainstreaming, Nagra, NCTA, Netskrt, Neustar, Nice People at Work, NTT, Optus, Orange, Panasonic Avionics, picoNETS, Plex, Qwilt, ServiceNow, Siden, Sky, SSIMWAVE, ST Engineering iDirect, Stackpath, Streaming Global, Synamedia, Telefonica, Telekom Malaysia, Telestream, Thales, The Football Association Premier League, THEO, Touchstream, Unified Streaming, Varnish Software, Vecima Networks, Velocix, Verizon, ViacomCBS, Viasat Inc., Warner Media, Western Digital Corp., Wowza.


The Alliance also sees participation from other brands owned by, or associated with, member companies which include Globecast, Hulu, NBCSports, Paramount, Peacock, PlutoTV, Prime Video, Twitch, Verizon Media, Viaccess-Orca, and Virgin Media.


For more information on the SVA, the Working Groups, or to inquire about becoming a member, visit


About the Streaming Video Alliance


The Streaming Video Alliance is a global technical association addressing critical challenges in streaming video. By educating the industry on the technical nature of the issues, providing a neutral forum for collaboration across the video ecosystem, and publishing documentation that defines technical solutions, the Alliance is helping to improve the streaming video experience at scale. Over 75 companies including network operators, content rights holders, OTT platforms, service providers, and technology vendors – representing some of the biggest names in global streaming – participate in bi-weekly working group activities and quarterly face-to-face meetings. For more information, please visit


Amber WinansBhava

Have A Question ABout Membership?

Schedule A Meeting

Send An Email

Don’t want to schedule a face-to-face meeting just now? No problem. Simply send your membership question to or fill out the form below and someone will get back to you as soon as possible.

"*" indicates required fields